India Playing XI vs PAK: No place for Suryakumar Yadav, Shardul Thakur in IND vs PAK Asia Cup 2023 clash

Spread the love

4.5/5 - (2 votes)

India have a batting order dilemma against Pakistan with KL Rahul unfit. Rohit Sharma & Rahul Dravid will have to take a call on Ishan Kishan’s batting position.

India Playing XI vs PAK: No place for Suryakumar Yadav, Shardul Thakur in IND vs PAK Asia Cup 2023 clash, Follow India vs Pakistan LIVE

India vs Pakistan marks the beginning of India Cricket Team’s official preparation for World Cup 2023. However, Rohit Sharma & Co are without an important member in KL Rahul. As he is still unfit, Ishan Kishan will come in India Playing XI against Pakistan as the wicketkeeper-batter. The only good news is the return of Shreyas Iyer and Jasprit Bumrah. But there will be no place for Suryakumar Yadav or Tilak Varma against Babar Azam & Co in the IND vs PAK Asia Cup 2023 clash on Saturday.

KL Rahul’s absence creates two problems: 1. Ishan Kishan must play, 2. Kishan can only play in Top 3. That creates a dilemma on who should be the two openers. Shubman Gill and Ishan Kishan have done well together. But should India drop Rohit Sharma to No 3 or 4? That is a big question for India head coach Rahul Dravid.

Also Read:

  • India Asia Cup squad
  • India vs Pakistan: Balagolla Rain to ruin highly-anticipated Asia Cup 2023 clash
  • Shaheen Afridi injured before IND vs PAK clash

Who opens for India?

In India’s Asia Cup camp, Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill both batted at No 3 and 4. So, keeping that in mind, Ishan Kishan seems to be the primary choice as the opener. And it’s not illogical. Against Shaheen Afridi’s fiery left-arm pace, India need a left-hander to counter. Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill could be a problematic pair.

As things stand, Rohit Sharma at No 3 or 4 in India Playing XI could be a temporary solution.

India Playing XI vs PAK: No place for Suryakumar Yadav, Shardul Thakur in IND vs PAK Asia Cup 2023 clash, Follow India vs Pakistan LIVE

Who will be India’s No 4?

When KL Rahul comes in, Shreyas Iyer will be India’s No 4. But in his absence, Iyer is set to bat at No 5. Virat Kohli is likely to be the No 4 for the first two games.

However, Team India may gamble with Rohit Sharma as well, sending him in the middle overs to play as an enforcer. Rohit may very well bat at No 5 with Shreyas Iyer at No 4. Hence, Suryakumar Yadav will miss out from India Playing XI. .

There is also a chance for Ishan Kishan to bat at No 5. In that order, Shubman Gill and Rohit will open with Virat Kohli at No 3 and Shreyas Iyer at No 4.

In ideal situation, Sanju Samson could have solved the problem. However, with Team India backing Ishan Kishan instead, Sanju won’t be in the 15-member squad. He will continue to be in the reserves.

IND vs PAK: What to expect?

  • While the batting is sorted, it gets tricky in bowling combinations.
  • If India vs Pakistan is on the same pitch as Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka, it will be a two-paced wicket in Kandy.
  • In LPL 2023, Pallekele has offered slow and high-scoring pitches both.
  • If it’s on the slower side, India will be tempted to pick Axar Patel in place of Mohammed Shami or Mohammed Siraj.
  • Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah and one of Shami Siraj will be the pace attack.
  • Hence, Shardul Thakur will also miss out even though he provides batting depth.
  • That will give India three spinners Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel and Ravindra Jadeja.
  • The final bowling combination will be decided only after Team India take a look at the pitch.

Predicted India Playing XI vs PAK:

  1. Rohit Sharma (C)
  2. Shubman Gill
  3. Ishan Kishan (WK)
  4. Virat Kohli
  5. Shreyas Iyer
  6. Hardik Pandya
  7. Ravindra Jadeja
  8. Kuldeep Yadav
  9. Mohammed Siraj
  10. Mohammed Shami
  11. Jasprit Bumrah

India Squad for Asia Cup 2023: 

Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya (VC), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna. Travelling reserve: Sanju Samson

MORE Related Posts:-

Spread the love

Leave a Comment